Prize Medal

Awarded annually to an outstanding microbiologist who is a global leader in his or her field and whose work has had a far-reaching impact beyond the discipline of microbiology.

The recipient of the Prize Medal will receive £1,000 and be expected to give a lecture based on the work for which the award has been made to a meeting of the Society. The recipient will be strongly encouraged to publish the lecture in one of the Society’s journals, whichever is the most suitable. This decision will be at the discretion of the Editors of the journals.

Nominations for the 2021 Prize Medal are now closed.

Please see below for a list of past winners.

Prize Medal Lecture 2019: Dr Christof Fellman on behalf of Professor Jennifer Doudna – Discovering and developing next-generation CRISPR-Cas tools

2019 Christof Fellman on behalf of Jennifer Doudna Discovering and developing next-generation CRISPR-Cas tools
2018 Jill Banfield Metagenomics provides a new view of the tree of life and the roles of candidate phyla bacteria and archaea in subsurface biogeochemistry
2017 Michael Rossmann A personal history of structural virology
2016 Philippe Sansonetti Decrypting microbe–host signals in the intestinal crypt: from homeostasis to pathology
2015 Sir David Baulcombe The small RNA link in antiviral defense and epigenetics
2014 Rita Colwell Climate change, oceans, and infectious disease: Cholera pandemics as a model
2013 Harald zur Hausen Infections causing human cancers: why do some ubiquitous infections mainly cause regional cancers?
2012 Julian E. Davies Molecules, Microbes and Me
2011 Sir David Hopwood Streptomyces genomics: new routes to antibiotic discovery
2010 Sir Paul Nurse Controlling the Cell Cycle
2009 Stanley B. Prusiner Prion Biology and Disease