Fleming Prize 2020

22 January 2020

In November 2019 we announced our 2020 Prize winners, including Professor Edze Westra from the University of Exeter, awarded the Fleming Prize. He is known for his work on the molecular mechanisms and evolutionary ecology of CRISPR-Cas systems.

Professor Westra is unable to attend Annual Conference 2020 for family reasons, but we are pleased to announce he will deliver his lecture at our Annual Conference in 2021, in Birmingham.

Professor Westra said: “Due to family circumstances I will sadly miss this year's Annual Conference – my favourite Microbiology meeting. Fortunately, the Microbiology Society has been very understanding, and offered me to give my Fleming Prize lecture at the 2021 Conference in Birmingham, which I am very much looking forward to!"

Professor Martin Blaser, winner of the Prize Medal, Professor Graham Hatfull, winner of the Peter Wildy Prize, Professor Julian Parkhill FRS, winner of the Marjory Stephenson Prize, and Professor Manu Prakash, winner of the Unilever Colworth Prize, will be delivering their Prize Lectures in Edinburgh in 2020. Nominations for the 2021 prizes will open in March, and we welcome nominations for our Prize Lectures from throughout the community.

Image: Jussi Puikkonen/KNAW.