Communications Committee

Reporting to Council, the Communications Committee is responsible for overseeing the delivery of the Communications plan to support the Society’s three main strategic objectives.


  1. We will enable our members to strengthen their existing relationships and gain access to new communities, unlocking the potential for knowledge exchange.
  2. We will advance understanding of microbiology and champion the contribution made by microbiology, our members and their work in addressing global challenges.
  3. We will reinforce the Society’s long-term sustainability and resilience by diversifying income streams, increasing efficiency and ensuring robust governance.

The Communications Committee will provide advice and expertise on the development of this plan to the Council and will be responsible for overseeing the delivery of activities. The Committee will work with staff to ensure that the activities delivered are in line with the agreed strategy and budget.

Chloe James headshot


Chloe James

University of Salford, UK





Committee members

  • Chloe James (Chair)
  • André Antunes
  • Chris Randall
  • David Blackbourn
  • David Edwards
  • Elinor Thompson
  • Martina Scanlan
  • Nigel Brown
  • Rachel Exley
  • Robert Will
  • Rowena Jenkins (Editor of Microbiology Today)

Paul Hoskisson, former Chair of the Communications Committee, talks about what he loved about being on the Committee and how you can get involved.

Terms of reference image: iStock/Gajus.