Council members

The Council of the Society normally consists of up to 15 members. Of these, six members are elected by members of the Society, nine are appointed by Council, six as Chairs of Committees, plus the President, General Secretary and Treasurer. Council is responsible for governance of the Society.

Nicola Stonehouse explains what the Elected Members of Council are and talks about her experience with Council so far.

Elected Members of Council

The current Members are as follows.


  • Professor Neil Gow

    President - University of Aberdeen


  • Professor Maggie Smith

    General Secretary - University of York

  • Professor Ian Roberts

    Treasurer and Chair of the Finance and Operations Committee - University of Manchester

Chairs of Committees

  • Dr Helen Brown

    Chair of the ECM Forum Executive Committee

  • Dr Pat Goodwin

    Chair of the Policy Committee - C3 Collaborating for Health

  • Dr Tadhg Ó Cróinín

    Chair of the Professional Development Committee - University College Dublin

  • Professor Jodi Lindsay

    Chair of the Publishing Committee - St George's, University of London

  • Professor Mick Tuite

    Chair of the Scientific Conferences Committee - University of Kent

  • Professor Nicola Stonehouse

    Interim Chair of the Communications Committee - University of Leeds

Elected Members

  • Professor Paul Kellam

    Imperial College London

  • Dr John Morrissey

    University College Cork

  • Professor Stephen Oliver

    University of Cambridge

  • Professor Tracy Palmer

    University of Dundee

  • Professor George Salmond

    University of Cambridge