Annual Conference Online 2021 – 'Most Promising Science' Prize winners

06 May 2021


Last week the Microbiology Society held its first digital version of Annual Conference.

Over the week at Annual Conference Online 2021, members showcased excellent posters and exciting research and we are very pleased to announce the winners of the Microbiology Society Journals ‘Most Promising Science’ prizes.


  • Michael Bottery for the presentation of ‘Interspecies interactions provide antibiotic protection within cystic fibrosis bacterial communities’
  • Ruby Coates for the presentation of ‘Development of a CRISPR interference system in Campylobacter jejuni
  • Anna Dewar for the presentation of ‘Plasmids facilitate pathogenicity, not cooperation, in bacteria’
  • Jazz Ghataora for the presentation of ‘Engineered hybrid MerR transcription factors enable construction of novel MerR based synthetic circuits for heavy metal detection in Bacillus subtilis
  • Evette Hillman for the presentation of ‘Metagenomic Analysis of Functional Bile Acid Genes and Bile Acid Composition in Faecal Samples of Bile Acid Diarrhoea Sufferers’
  • Maya Kamat for the presentation of ‘Clostridium clostridioforme; a unique member of the mammalian gut microbiome that directly influences host physiology’
  • Ryan Kerr for the presentation of ‘Cell-to-cell ATP differences can modulate cellular decision-making’
  • Elizabeth Ledger for the presentation of ‘Host environment induces daptomycin tolerance in Staphylococcus aureus’
  • Lina Pintor-Escobar for the presentation of ‘4000 metres closer to novel antibiotics: a bioprospecting tale of three Streptomyces strains from the Andes’

Journal of General Virology

  • Megan McConnell for the presentation of ‘The mutational variety of the live-attenuated influenza vaccine proteome’
  • Kerry Newbrook for the presentation of ‘Virus damage or host response? Elucidating mechanisms of pathogenesis in bluetongue virus-infected sheep’
  • Anzelika Rubina for the presentation of ‘HCMV UL148 and UL148D regulate multiple immune pathways by impairing expression of ADAM17’
  • Olivia C. Swann for the presentation of ‘Visualising influenza cRNAs reveals a role for ANP32 in vRNA to cRNA synthesis’
  • Nazia Thakur for the presentation of ‘SARS-CoV-2 Spike has broad tropism for mammalian ACE2 proteins yet exhibits a distinct pattern of receptor usage when compared to other β-coronavirus Spike proteins’

Microbial Genomics

  • Rama Bhatia for the presentation of ‘Environment and the Evolutionary Trajectory of Horizontal Gene Transfer.’
  • Teagan Brown for the presentation of ‘What is the effect of bacteriophage treatment on the healthy gut microbiota?’
  • Maria Rosa Domingo-Sananes for the presentation of ‘Seeing the (random) forests for the genes: a machine learning approach to pangenome structure analysis’
  • Louise Flanagan for the presentation of ‘How Does Regulatory Evolution Differ Between Related Groups? Diverse, Repeatable, and Undiscovered Routes to Restore Motility Through Mutations in Gene Regulatory Networks in Two Immotile Bacterial Strains’
  • David Forrest for the presentation of ‘No non-sense: the prevention of non-specific transcription in Bacillus subtilis’
  • Samuel Greenrod for the presentation of ‘Global diversity and potential functioning of prophages in plant pathogenic Ralstonia solanacearum bacterium’
  • Rebecca Weiser for the presentation of ‘Investigation of prophage carriage in the genus Burkholderia and characterisation of inducible phages from Burkholderia vietnamiensis strain G4’

Journal of Medical Microbiology

  • Aiste Dijokaite for the presentation of ‘Immuno-proteomics of sera from gonorrhoea patients identified potential vaccine candidates’
  • Alyona Lavrinenko for the presentation of ‘Respiratory pathogens co-infection in patients with COVID-19 pneumonia in Kazakhstan’
  • Lewis Mason for the presentation of ‘Genomic epidemiology of the first London outbreak of antimicrobial resistant sexually transmitted shigellosis’
  • Madeline Mei for the presentation of ‘Heterogenous susceptibility to R-pyocins in populations of Pseudomonas aeruginosa sourced from cystic fibrosis lungs’
  • Anthony Slate for the presentation of ‘Development of an infection responsive coating to control encrustation of urinary catheters’

Congratulations to all of the winners and thank you to the Editorial Board members who volunteered to assess posters.

Image: Nicola Stonehouse.