Our history

The Microbiology Society, previously named the Society for General Microbiology, was formally established in February 1945, with Sir Alexander Fleming elected as its first President. Find out more about our history using the timeline below, reading Fifty Years On by John Postgate or viewing the profiles on current and previous Presidents of the Society.

The obituary of the first joint secretary of the Society, Leslie Alfred Allen, is also available for download below.

Leslie Alfred Allen Obituary Notice (PDF)