Professor Kim Hardie wins the 2023 Outreach Prize

05 September 2023

Kim Hardie shot.png

The Microbiology Society is pleased to announce the recipient of the 2023 Microbiology Outreach Prize, Professor Kim Hardie from the University of Nottingham, UK, for her project entitled ‘Spread the message, not the germs’.

Professor Hardie's project is an initiative aimed at curtailing the transmission of infectious diseases through the enhancement of children's hand hygiene practices. Through engaging and enjoyable activities, her project fosters active learning in schools, science festivals, exhibitions, and media platforms to instil effective hand hygiene practices among children. It is testament to her dedication to making a lasting impact on the awareness of microbial transmission and the importance of preventive measures.

Professor Hardie said of the award: "I am honoured to be awarded the Microbiology Society Outreach Prize on behalf of our team, and especially all the children who have helped us develop ways to deliver interactive educational messages that help others wash their hands well to avoid getting ill. It is always a delight to see people enjoy engaging with our outreach activities, and to think the activity could help save lives.”

Kim’s nominators Miguel Camara and Joanne Santini said: "Kim’s contribution to the understanding of the importance of handwashing to children from an early age has been an outstanding achievement to raise awareness of the transmission of AMR to future generations. The Outreach Prize from the Microbiology Society represents a well-deserved recognition for her years of commitment to dedication to this."

Professor Kim Hardie is scheduled to deliver a 30-minute presentation on her work during the Society's Committees Day, set to take place in person on 2 October 2023, in London. This presentation will serve as a platform for her to elucidate her pioneering strategies for engaging with children and fostering a culture of effective hand hygiene.

The Microbiology Society Outreach Prize is awarded annually by the Society to an individual or group of microbiologists who have demonstrated an outstanding outreach initiative. Visit the Microbiology Outreach Prize Page to learn more.