Marjory Stephenson Prize Lecture

Awarded annually to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the discipline of microbiology.

Marjory Stephenson was the second President of the Society 1947-1949 and a distinguished pioneer of chemical microbiology.

The recipient of the Prize Lecture will receive £1,000 and be expected to give a lecture based on the work for which the award has been made to a meeting of the Society. The recipient will be strongly encouraged to publish the lecture in one of the Society’s journals, whichever is the most suitable. This decision will be at the discretion of the Editors of the journals.

Nominations for Prize Lectures 2019 and the 2020 Prize Medal are now closed.

Please see below for a list of past winners.

Marjory Stephenson Prize Lecture 2018: Professor Geoffrey Smith - Vaccinia Virus: a portrait of a poxvirus

2018 G. L. Smith Vaccinia virus: a portrait of a poxvirus
2017 S. Busby Transcription activation in bacteria: ancient and modern
2016 S. Oliver Petri plates to Petri nets: the path to systems microbiology
2015 R. Weiss What's the host and what's the microbe?
2014 L. Piddock Understanding the Basis of Antibiotic Resistance as a Platform for Early Drug Discovery
2012 Y. Chang & P.S. Moore Old Themes and New Variations in Human Tumor Virology
2010 J. Tommassen Assembly of Outer Membrane Proteins in Bacteria and Mitochondria
2008 A.B. Rickinson Studies with an Oncogenic Virus: How to Survive a Lifetime with EBV
2006 Sir John Skehel Invasion by Influenza Viruses
2004 S. Falkow Thoughts on Persistent Bacterial Infections
2002 S.T. Cole Comparative and Functional Genomics of Mycobacterium tuberculosis
2000 D.W. Holden In vivo Genetic Analysis of Salmonella Virulence
1998 R. Thauer Biochemistry of Methanogenesis
1996 K. Gull Oneness and Otherness in Eukaryotic Microbes
1994 A.P.J. Trinci Evolution of the Quorn® Myco-protein Fungus Fusarium graminearum
1992 J.R. Guest Oxygen-regulated Gene Expression in E. coli
1990 P.M. Nurse (now Sir Paul) On Fission