The Council of the Society normally consists of up to 16 members. Of these, six representatives are elected by the membership of the Society, seven are appointed by Council, as Chairs and co-Chairs of our committees, plus the President, General Secretary and Treasurer. Council is responsible for governance of the Society. Learn more who our current Council members are. 



  • Del-170x233.jpg


    Professor Gurdyal Besra

    University of Birmingham, UK

  • Mark Harris

    General Secretary

    Professor Mark Harris
    University of Leeds, UK


  • Robin-May.jpg

    Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee

    Professor Robin May

    University of Birmingham, UK

Chairs and co-Chairs of Committees

  • Jose.jpg

    co-Chair of Sustainability Committee

    Professor Jose Bengoechea 

    Queen's University Belfast, Northern Ireland

  • Sarah-Maddocks.jpg

    co-Chair of Sustainability Committee

    Dr Sarah Maddocks

    Cardiff Metropolitan University, UK

  • Gill Elliott.jpg

    co-Chair of Building Communities Committee

    Professor Gill Elliott

    University of Surrey, UK

  • Paul-Hoskisson.jpg

    co-Chair of Building Communities Committee

    Professor Paul Hoskisson

    University of Strathclyde, UK

  • Chloe-James-170x233px.jpg 2

    co-Chair of Impact and Influence Committee

    Dr Chloe James

    University of Salford, UK

  • Tina-Joshi.jpg

    co-Chair of Impact and Influence Committee

    Dr Tina Joshi

    University of Plymouth, UK

  • Colman-O'Cathail.jpg

    Chair of Early Career Microbiologists' Forum Executive Committee

    Colman O'Cathail 

    European Molecular Biology Laboratory, UK

Elected Members

  • Laura-Bowater.jpg

    Professor Laura Bowater

    University of East Anglia, UK

  • Sharon-Brookes.jpg

    Dr Sharon Brookes

    Animal and Plant Health Agency, UK

  • 2012 Nigel L Brown.jpg

    Professor Nigel Brown

    Emeritus University of Edinburgh, UK

  • David-Clarke.jpg

    Dr David Clarke

    University College Cork, Ireland

  • Andy-Edwards.jpg

    Dr Andrew Edwards

    Imperial College London, UK

  • Kim-Hardie.jpg

    Professor Kim Hardie

    University of Nottingham, UK

Thumbnail image: monkeybusinessimages/iStock.