British Yeast Group 2019: A view from Twitter

Posted on July 2, 2019   by Alex Kubiakowska

The British Yeast Group Focused Meeting 2019 was held in Newcastle from 26–28 June. This year’s theme focused on ‘discovery to impact.’ The event promised to be a great opportunity for early career yeast researchers to share their research, network and strengthen relationships in the British yeast community. Here we share some of the highlights from another successful meeting with a view from Twitter.

BYG Banner.jpg

The meeting began with a talk from Dr Liz Ballou (University of Birmingham, UK) who discussed how she recently developed an in vitro assay for inducing cells and explained her research into other mechanisms of inducible polyploidy in Cryptococcus neoformans.

Daniel Jones (Johnston Labs, UK) then proceeded to present his paper on investigating a novel strain of Candida famata with Danio reiro

Campbell Gourlay (University of Kent, UK) shared his research into an antifungal treatment that could provide a lifeline to patients post total laryngectomy. 

There were lots of opportunities to network at both the lunch and coffee breaks. Posters were on display for delegates to view throughout the conference. 

We even managed to attract a young and aspiring scientist at the event. 

Delegates shared their thoughts as day one of the conference concluded. 

On day two of the conference we enjoyed another morning of presentations and offered papers.

The County Hotel in Newcastle provided us with a great venue for the event. 

There were more opportunities to network with other researchers. 

And we rounded off the day with a BBQ at Baltic Arts Centre which was enjoyed by attending delegates. 

Before we knew it, it was the final day of the event and we had many more fantastic talks from researchers including those exploring genome architecture, variation graphs and encoding yeasts to name a few.

The event concluded with closing remarks and announcing the poster prize winner Elizabeth Edrich from the University of Kent, UK.  

Thank you to everyone who attended the meeting.