Recognising excellence in microbiology: nominate someone for a Microbiology Society Prize Lecture

13 June 2018

The deadline for Prize Lecture nominations has been extended until 23:59 on 18 June 2018. This is due to a lack of diversity in the nominations received to date. Help us recognise the best microbiologists and nominate someone deserving of recognition today.

The Microbiology Society Prize Lectures have recognised outstanding scientists working across the vast breadth of microbiology research since the first Fleming Prize was awarded to Graham Gooday in 1976. Over the years, Microbiology Society members have acknowledged excellent early career researchers, teachers and those who engage with the public, excellence in translational research, and those who have made essential contributions to their fields in their lifetime.

The Prize Lectures traditionally held by the Prize winners at the Annual Conference also offer an opportunity to learn about the work of these outstanding microbiologists, often giving an insight into their careers and what led them to their seminal discoveries – helping inspire early career members in particular.

After a review of the Prize Lectures the Society now accepts resubmission of nominations for the Fleming Prize as many times as the nominators would like, as long as the nominee is eligible (within 12 years of their PhD). We are also able to offer a small travel bursary to the nominators of any Prize winner, to enable them to attend the Prize Lecture.

We rely on the nominations coming from our membership to help us recognise the best microbiologists working today. With recent Prizes being awarded to leaders such as Professor Jill Banfield FRS, Professor Gurdyal ‘Del’ Besra and Professor Sharon Peacock CBE, help us to continue our tradition and nominate someone for the 2019 Prize Lectures and 2020 Prize Medal.

Nominate an outstanding microbiologist for one of the Society’s Prize Lectures by 23:59 on 18 June 2018. See for full details.