The scientific content for the Society's conference and events programme is planned by the members of the four Divisions.

The Divisions meet twice each year and each one works independently to plan some conference sessions, whilst some symposia are developed with a cross-cutting theme in mind. Each Division is headed by a Chair and Chair-Elect, who sit on the Scientific Conferences Panel responsible for making decisions on policy and meetings content. The Scientific Conferences Chair reports to Council.

Committee members serve for three to four years and in February each year there is call for nominations for new members to serve on the Divisions.

Find out more about each of the Divisions below:


Eukaryotic Division: iStock/wir0man.
Prokaryotic Division: iStock/3dalia.
Virology Division: iStock/Yabusaka Design.
Irish Division: iStock/Kkolosov.